Book Notes: Rebound Rules

I just finished reading Rick Pitino’s latest book “Rebound Rules.” I was looking for some inspiration in both my professional and coaching life and found it here. This is a breezy read for those of us who read a lot of self help books, much of what Pitino talks about is well-tread in other books.

That said, I especially liked some of what he has to say about managing young players. Granted, the difference between the type of coaching he does is a galaxy away from the type of coaching I do!

What I loved most about the book however is how Pitino recounts his Celtics failure and how he rediscovered himself and his passions. His “PHD” (Passion, Hunger, Drive) framework is something that I will be using personally as I begin to plan for 2009.

One other phrase that I really liked was the “darkness of doubt.” I’ve had some recent failures myself in my professional life and realized that the doubt I felt was natural, but something that I simply need to move past. That’s a phrase I’ll keep in mind for a long time to come.

It’s a good read and worth your time.

Leave a comment